The Local Government Act 2020 requires councils to consider the manner in which all Council Committees are established and administered.

Under the Act (2020) a limited number of committee types are defined:

  • Delegated Committee (section 63 of the Act)
  • Community Asset Committee (section 65 of the Act)
  • Audit and Risk Committee (section 53 of the Act)
  • Advisory Committees.