Moyne Shire Council was created in 1994, as a result of amalgamations conducted by the state government. 

The former shires of Belfast, Mortlake, Minhamite and Warrnambool, and the former Borough of Port Fairy, as well as small parts of the shires of Dundas, Hampden and Mount Rouse were all brought together and became Moyne Shire.