About Moyne Shire Council

From the rolling green pastures that support the dairy industry to the stunning coastline beaten by waves for thousands of years, Moyne Shire is a diverse and exciting region.

Moyne is an area where you can feel at home in a spectacular natural landscape, with a strong community spirit and vibrant lifestyle to match.

Quick facts
  • Location South-west Victoria, Australia   
  • Area 5,478km2   
  • Townships Port Fairy (population 2,560), Mortlake (pop. 941), Macarthur (pop. 246), Koroit (pop. 1,376), Caramut, Garvoc, Woolsthorpe, Hawkesdale, Kirkstall, Ellerslie, Panmure, Peterborough (pop. 148), Framlingham, Hexham. For a full list of locality names in Moyne Shire, please view a full list here here(PDF, 7KB) 
  • Locations Port Fairy and Mortlake (Customer Service Centers), Koroit, Mortlake, Macarthur, Naringal (Works Depots) 
  • Borders Glenelg Shire in the west, Southern Grampians and Ararat Rural City to the north, Corangamite to the east, Warrnambool City Council in the south. 


Timber Towns Victoria