Special committees of the Council are appointed under Section 86 of the Local Government Act 1989. These committees are established for a range of reasons, but mainly when the Council is sure that a committee is the most efficient way to review policy and/or monitor and assess the performance of a specific function of the Council, and manage and/or advise on the operation and maintenance of a Council property or service.

Advisory Committees are established by the Council to help in the consultative process and to provide valuable information to support the decision making of the Council. Both special and advisory committees are made up of Council and community representatives, but special committees have more decision-making powers.

Moyne Shire Council has 7 special committees and 16 advisory committees active.