country road bridge

Around 3,564km of roads are situated within Moyne Shire and it is a huge challenge each year to maintain, repair and restore them. Moyne Shire places a high priority on road maintenance and each year allocate millions of dollars to the roads budget.

The roads within Moyne Shire are divided into two main categories - arterial roads (603km) which are managed by VicRoads and municipal roads (2961 km) which are managed by Moyne Shire Council.

Moyne Shire Council has a contract with VicRoads to perform road maintenance tasks on some of the arterial road network (Main Roads).

Moyne Shire has processes in place to help guide decisions about maintenance, construction and management of the arterial road network and the municipal road network. These web pages explain this process in detail.

Arterial Roads

VicRoads is the authority responsible for managing the arterial road network within Moyne Shire , which includes all roads classified as "highways" and "main roads".

Call VicRoads on 131 170 or visit  for any road hazards or issues on the following VicRoads managed roads.

These roads are:

Four highways totalling 240km:
Great Ocean Road
Hamilton Highway
Hopkins Highway
Princes Highway

Sixteen main roads totalling 363km:
Ayresford Road (South of Cobden-Warrnambool Road)
Cobden-Warrnambool Road
Hamilton-Port Fairy Road
Koroit-Port Fairy Road
Koroit-Woolsthorpe Road
Macarthur-Penshurst Road
Mailors Flat-Koroit Road
Mortlake-Ararat Road
Myamyn-Macarthur Road
Penshurst-Port Fairy Road
Penshurst-Warrnambool Road
Spencer Road
Terang-Mortlake Road
Timboon-Nullawarre Road
Warrnambool-Caramut Road
Woolsthorpe-Heywood Road

 Municipal or local roads

Moyne Shire Council is the responsible authority for approximately 1,573km of sealed rural roads, 1,085km of rural unsealed roads, and 160km of sealed and unsealed urban or town roads.