Community Asset Committees

The Local Government Act 2020 provides the capacity for Council to adopt Community Asset Committees to assist with facility use and management. 

The Committees consist of Councillors, Council staff and ‘other’ persons (members of the community of stakeholder groups).

A Charter that aligns the term of the Committee with the term of the Council binds all of the Community Asset Committees.  The governance arrangements for these committees are specified by the chief executive (s 47(4)). These terms and conditions must include the limits and purpose of any financial delegation that can be exercised by the committee; governance arrangements; and monitoring and reporting requirements.

View Instrument of Delegation here