Library Services

Submissions closing on 31 March 2021, 12:00 AM


The Corangamite Regional Library Corporation (CRLC) was established in 1996 with member councils, Colac-Otway Shire, Corangamite Shire, Moyne Shire and Warrnambool City, signatories to a Regional Library Agreement in accordance with Section 196 of the Local Government Act 1989.

The member councils contribute funds to CRLC to provide public library services across their municipalities. CRLC provides services from buildings provided by the member councils.

In 2020, Warrnambool City Council and Colac Otway Shire indicated their intention to withdraw from the Corporation as at 30 June 2021. 

In the short term (1 July 2021 – 30 June 2022) there will be no changes to library services for the next 12 months apart from the Outreach service.  The Corangamite Regional Library Corporation (CRLC) will continue to operate with Corangamite and Moyne Shire as members only.  As at 1 July 2022, CRLC will be wound up and Corangamite and Moyne Shires will provide library services under a shared service model. 

Under a Corangamite and Moyne Shared Service model each Council maintains direct responsibility for operational costs and staff costs however collection management would be coordinated by one Council.  State Government funding for recurrent operations of library services would remain. 

Over the next 12 months work will be done to develop and establish the shared service model for implementation. 

We are now here seeking your feedback into what our libraries provide.  Please submit your feedback by completing this form