VEC seeks comment on proposed electoral structures of Moyne Shire

Published on 21 March 2019

VEC Review

The Victorian Electoral Commission (VEC) is reviewing the electoral structure of Moyne Shire Council to ensure it provides fair and equitable representation for all voters.

Following preliminary submissions from the local community and the VEC’s own research, the VEC has produced a preliminary report with three proposed options for the electoral structure of Moyne Shire Council.

Moyne Shire Council is currently an unsubdivided local council with seven councillors. The report presents three proposed options:

  • Option A seven councillors elected from an unsubdivided electoral structure
  • Option B seven councillors elected from five wards (three single-councillor wards and two two-councillor wards)
  • Option C seven councillors elected from three wards (two two-councillor wards and one three-councillor ward)

    The report is available:

  • online at
  • by calling 131 832 or
  • for inspection at council offices during business hours.

You can have your say on the options in the report by making a submission to the VEC.

Submissions must reach the VEC by 5pm on Wednesday 17 April.

Submissions can be made:

  • online at
  • by email to or
  • by post to the Victorian Electoral Commission, Level 11, 530 Collins Street, Melbourne 3000

To find out more about the review process, visit or call 131 832.